January 19 – Holaaaaa!

Hola que hace?

This week was SOOOOO HOOOOT! seriously, the sun isn’t visible but you can feel the heat for sure. You can imagine how much I sweat after going up a hill or up hundreds of stairs, I sweat like a man! haha but oh well that’s the way it is. Also, my ankle still hurts a lot since I twisted it last week 😦 Today for P day we are going to a place called Matucana where there’s a waterfall and we will have to walk a lot :/ I hope I don’t die, please pray for me!

I also got sick with a cold and a cough a couple of days ago but I’m not that sick anymore and luckily I didn’t get a fever (and if I did, I didn’t even notice). I wrapped myself  with many blankets at night and took pills for the cold. Now I only have a mild cough and cold but honestly it’s a good thing that I didn’t get even more sick, it really is a great blessing.

There were times we were walking a lot and it was really hot and with my foot pain and how sick I was sometimes I felt like I couldn’t go anymore, seriously sometimes I was out of breath (too much dust!). The people here are interesting, there are churches everywhere and people have very interesting and rare concepts of God! Many times they don’t wanna listen and when they do they only do it to listen to the “Word of God” and continue with their lives without changing for the better. It’s very frustrating sometimes, but I know that if my Heavenly Father sent me to this area is because He trusts that I will do a good job and He will give me the necessary strength and energy to keep going. I’m truly learning that when someone has a calling, it isn’t because they’re good or strong but because they need to learn something. For me is to trust more in Him and be more humble and patient! He truly capacitates the weak!
And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them. (Ether 12:27)
It truly is an honour to be serving a mission, there are times when it is frustrating and I feel like I’m not capable of teaching or continuing with the routine but at the same time I know that God qualifies those whom he has called and in that I trust.What happened this week:

1. On Wednesday we had exchanges for the day. I stayed in my area with one of the sister leaders and she didn’t know how to move around my area and I only know by memory.  We went to people’s homes and since I don’t know the names of the streets sometimes we got lost. It was a good experience since there will be transfers next week and most likely my companion will leave and I’ll stay with a new sister who doesn’t know the area and I will have to guide her where to go. How I miss Google maps hahah no seriously, that thing is a blessing!

2. On Sunday we had Fabiana’s baptism. She is the daughter of our pensionista and it seriously was a challenge for the baptism to happen. First, her dad wouldn’t allow her to get baptized, then they changed the date to Sunday since the youth were going to the temple on Saturday. The baptismal font was too dirty (it had cockroaches), I was all sick and I had to clean the font and wash by hand the only baptismal dress we could find (my companion doesn’t know how to wash by hand…and neither do I! Haha). The chapel ran out of water and we were told that we had to go to another chapel, then when she could finally get baptized, we found out she had a phobia to water etc etc. Regardless of all these things, Fabiana got baptized and her dad was really happy and even offered the closing prayer and said words of thankfulness. It was beautiful and the most important thing is that Fabiana and her family really liked the service.

I don’t have much time, I love you and please pray for me and my health!

I love you!

Ps. my eye is swollen! hahaha sigh how I love the mission life!

Please, say thank you to Sister Kutney and her seminary class for the card, they’re awesome!

Hermana Del Castillo

Peru Lima East Mission


Holaaaaa!
 

Hola que hace??Bueno this week was SOOOOOO HOOOOTT! en serio no se ve el sol pero hace mucho bochorno, ya se imaginan como sudo despues de subir un cerro o ciento de escaleras, sudo como hombre! jaja pero bueno asi es. Tambien como me torci el tobillo, me sigue doliendo mucho 😦 hoy para pday vamos a ir a un lugar que se llama Matucana, donde hay una cascada y hay que caminar mucho :/ espero no morir por favor oren por mi!

tambien me acabo de emfermar de catarro y tos hace unos dias, ya no estoy tan mal y por suerte no me dio fiebre ( y si me dio ni cuenta me di ) me tape muy bien en las noches y tome pastillas para el resfriado, nadamas tengo tos y un poco de resfriado, pero la verdad que bueno que no me puse peor es una gran bendicion.Aveces estamos caminando tanto y hace tanto calor, y con mi dolor de pie y con lo emferma que estaba sentia a veces que ya no podia, en serio a veces me quedaba sin aire (mucho polvo!)

La gente es interesante, hay iglesias por todas partes y la gente tiene conceptos de Dios muy raros! y muchas veces no quieren escuchar y cuando lo hacen solo lo hacen para escuchar la ¨palabra de Dios¨y seguir con sus vidas sin cambiar para mejor. Es muy frustante a veces, pero se que si mi Padre Celestial me mando a esta area es por que el confia en mi que voy hacer un buen trabajo y el me va a dar la fuerza y energia necesaria. En verdad estoy aprendiendo que alguien que tiene un llamamiento no es por que es bueno o fuerte si no por que necesita aprender algo! para mi es confiar mas en el y ser mas humilde y paciente! pero realmente el capacita al debil!

Y si los hombres viene a mi, les mostrare su debilidad. Doy a los hombres debilidad para que sean humildes; y basta mi gracia a todos los hombres que se humillan ante mi; porque si se humillan ante mi, y tienen fe en mi, entonces hare que las cosas debiles sean fuertes para ellos. (Eter 12:27)
Realmente es un honor servir una mision, hay tiempos donde es frustante y aveces siento que no sea capaz de enseñar o seguir con el ritmo, pero a la vez se que Dios califica aquel al que el a llamado! en eso tengo confianza.Bueno ahora lo siguiente:

1. El miercoles tuvimos divisiones. yo fui a mi area con una de las hermanas lideres, ella no sabia como andar en mi area y pues yo solamente de pura memoria fuimos a las casas de las personas y como no se los nombres de las calles aveces nos perdimos un poco. Fue una buena experiencia ya que va ver cambios la siguiente semana y lo mas seguro es que mi compañera se vaya y yo me quede sola con una nueva compañera que no conoce el area y yo la tengo que guiar por donde ir! como extraño google maps! jajaja, no, enserio esa cosa es  una bendicion!

2. El domingo tuvimos el bautismo de Fabiana! la hija de nuestra pensionista en serio fue un calvario tener el bautismo, primero su papa no le daba permiso, luego cambiaron la fecha a domingo ya que el sabado los jovenes iban ir al templo, luego la pila estaba muy sucia ( tenia cucarachas) luego estaba toda enferma y tuve que limpiar la pila y lavar a mano el unico traje de bautismo que encontramos ( mi compañera no sabe como lavar a mano…. y yo tampoco! jaja) luego la capilla se quedo sin agua, y dijeron que teniamos que cambiarla a otra capilla, luego cuando al fin se pudo bautizar no sabiamos que ella tenia fobia al agua etc etc. bueno a pesar de todo eso Fabiana se bautizo, su papa estaba muy feliz y hasta ofrecio la ultima oracion y dijo palabras de agradecimiento. Fue bonito y lo mas importante es que a ella y a su familia le gusto el servicio.

Bueno ya no tengo mucho tiempo los quiero y por favor oren por mi y mi salud!

Los quiero

Ps. Tengo hinchado el ojo! jajaja sigh como amo la vida misional!

Por favor diganle a la hermana Kutney gracias a ella y a sus clase de seminario, por la carta tambien gracias, son geniales!

Hermana Del Castillo

Peru Lima East Mission
Leave a Reply

